The County of Greater Manchester is made up of 10 Metropolitan Districts and Boroughs namely, Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan and has a combined population of 2.8 Million people.

Bolton is known as one of the friendliest places in the country, and its ‘Bolton Family’ values are shared with its partners who work with communities to improve the town, harnessing the energy, talents and fun loving nature of the local people. Bolton grew from a small market town serving the needs of the local… Continue reading
Bury is the northernmost district in Greater Manchester. The borough comprises six towns – Bury, Radcliffe, Ramsbottom, Tottington, Whitefield and Prestwich – ranging from busy urban centres to picturesque rural locations.   It is home to the famous Bury Market, which attracts millions of visitors a year, and tourist attractions including the East Lancashire Railway. The… Continue reading
Manchester, famous for being the world's first Industrial City, first purpose built railway, the first computer, the first municipal owned airport, the first professional football league. Manchester was the place where Mr. Rolls met Mr. Royce, Charles Halle formed his world renowned orchestra, Ernest Rutherford split the atom and Coronation Street first came to our… Continue reading
The  Metropolitan Borough of Oldham embraces Lancashire and the Old West Riding of Yorkshire and contains within its boundaries Chadderton, Royton, Shaw, part of Failsworth and Saddleworth. Formerly a cotton town, Oldham’s economy is now diverse including High Tech engineering and service industries. Oldham's Town Centre is a shoppers' haven with an array of shops,… Continue reading
Rochdale is a market town in the North West of England and nestles in the foothills of the Pennines and is surrounded by outstandingly beautiful scenery. Originally, when “cotton was king”, there were around 300 mills, spinning and weaving, producing the fabric for which Lancashire was famous. Indeed, it was the deprivation of those very… Continue reading
The Metropolitan Borough of the City of Salford dates from 1974 with the merging of five neighbouring communities that grew side-by-side over the centuries. Salford was one of these five and was granted city status in 1926. Salford has a diverse and multi-cultural community. It is a dynamic and vibrant city where museums, galleries and… Continue reading
A focal point originally of Roman roads and a Saxon Village, commenced the history of Stockport. A Charter of Freedom was granted in 1220 for the town and in 1974 it became a Metropolitan Borough Council. Stockport has a vibrant and diverse economy with a skilled workforce. Given its proximity to Manchester International Airport, the… Continue reading
The Metropolitan Borough of Tameside, named after the River Tame which flows through the heart of the borough, was formed in 1974 bringing together the nine towns of Ashton-under-Lyne, Audenshaw, Denton, Droylsden, Dukinfield,  Hyde, Longdendale, Mossley and Stalybridge. The borough covers around 40 square miles and has a population of approximately two hundred and sixteen… Continue reading
The Borough of Trafford was formed on 1st April 1974 by the Local Government Act 1972 as a merger of the municipal boroughs of Altrincham, Sale and Stretford, the urban districts of Bowdon, Hale and Urmston and part of Bucklow Rural District.  The River Mersey flows through the borough separating North Trafford from South Trafford. With… Continue reading
One of the oldest boroughs in Lancashire, Wigan received its charter from Henry III in 1246 and was a key battle ground during the Civil War, staying loyal to the king, and being rewarded with a ceremonial sword and the motto 'Ancient and Loyal'. Joined together with Leigh it became the 9th largest Metropolitan Borough… Continue reading